Destination Amargosa

Amargosa Opera House Interior

Marta Becket and her Amargosa Opera House are my source of inspiration as the year begins. This woman left behind life as she knew it to became a conduit of pure (and divine) inspiration. She took a dilapidated abandoned theater in a veritable ghost town in the middle of a harsh desert and turned it into a place of beauty, creation and well being. I see the way God works in so much of what Marta Becket did. Her story touches me deeply and inspires me to stand ever more resolute in my conviction to lead a faith based life.

In 1967 Marta Becket, an accomplished dancer from New York City, was traveling with her husband when ‘misfortune’ struck. In the unfamiliar and austere surroundings of one of the world’s most extreme deserts, they got a flat tire. The only help available was in the small town of Death Valley Junction and, while waiting for repair, Marta discovered there an abandoned theater in a state of decay and disrepair. The theater stirred something within Marta and in less than an hour she and her husband had made the decision to move from New York to live in this small and forgotten place.

Over the course of the next 40 or so years, Marta, working and performing solo, turned the theater into a magical space of art and dance. Her work garnered international interest and people came from all over the world to be inspired. The Opera House has been the sole source of prosperity for the entire town of Death Valley Junction for decades and the wonder Marta created lifts up and energizes. Her work exemplifies a life in connection with source and flow and spirit. Her life exemplifies the nature of delight and prosperity availed to all who choose to live each day in close partnership with God.

“Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.” Matt 5:16

Marta left the world and followed the whisper in her heart. She didn’t do it to please anyone or to earn money or to have an effect or for any other reason than to develop the gift that God gave her. When people told her she was crazy for painting in a building that she didn’t own and might be condemned she said it didn’t matter. No one would ever be able to take from her the joy she gained from having her experience. Through her commitment to completely authentic and pure creative expression, Marta experienced the unfettered freedom and joy that God wishes for all of us.

Much of the world hinders us from the ecstatic joy of experiencing God’s hand move through our lives. Marta cut out the noise and the chatter to listen to her higher self. She danced only for an audience she painted on the walls of the theater and for God. She lifted her heart. She opened herself to the vitality and excitement of creation and became a channel of God’s power and touch in just the way that God intended for her alone. Marta found her destination and joyfully did her work. That was Marta’s unique life. I want to be like Marta: pure, creative, productive, inspired.

Lord give me the courage and strength and joy and focus to step in to being created anew. Help me to follow exactly who you made ME to be. Let me be silent enough Lord to hear you whisper my calling. Let me begin doing the things that only I, and no one else, can do. I lift my heart to you Father. Fill this heart with your divine inspiration – that portion of inspiration that you have set aside especially, specifically for me. And let me act on that inspiration Lord. Open my heart to the adventure you have waiting for me, for I know you are ever faithful, that you have plans, and that you are always by my side. Let me create something beautiful with you God. Let me work, perform, create, and inspire to praise and glorify your holy name. Amen.

“For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” – Ephesians 2:10

This year I pray we ALL might open our hearts and our spirits and become the creative masterpieces God made each of us to be. No one else on Earth is you. YOU are the only one and God made you especially to do that thing you do. Let us travel to Destination Amargosa together this year in spirit.  Let us all take an ugly and desolate place and fill it with beautiful life. Let us all take a page from Marta and step away from the world and into pure, divinely inspired, co-creation with God.

7 thoughts on “Destination Amargosa

  1. Haha! Thank you Linda! I hope the post inspired you. Thank you so much for your kind encouragement RE writing. I am resolved to continue. I have 11 followers for my blog! Broke the ’10’ milestone and feeling good! : )

    • Jennifer You are so beautiful both in spirit and visage. The Holy Spirit has filled you and set you on a course to glorify God in ways known now only to Him – yet to be discovered by you. I believe many will benefit from your gifts and I hope to be one of the many. Lynn

      • Thankyou Lynn! You are most certainly one of the people who God has put on this journey with me. Your love and support mean so much and I’m truly glad to have you be one of the ‘discoveries’ God has placed in my path.

  2. Many moons ago, you and I attempted an exercise in writing together. Not surprisingly, it never went anywhere. I was too undisciplined and you had not yet found your true voice. As I read these entries I hear you loud and clear. You have found your true voice, my friend. And I look forward to hearing more.

Leave a Reply

