John 1:1-5

6a00d8341c5bb353ef0147e040a0ba970b

In the beginning was the Word. And the Word was with God. And the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things came into being through Him. And without Him not one thing came into being. What has come into being in Him was life, and the life was the light of all people. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not overcome it.  – John 1:1-5

I read this passage and I am overwhelmed with the beauty in it. I’m compelled to repeat it, over and over, until it is committed to memory.

The ‘Word’ is translated from the Greek as ‘logos’, in this case meaning the Divine Expression.  Logos signifies the ‘Word’ being the personal manifestation of God, not of a part of the divine nature, but of the whole deity. Jesus Christ is the embodiment of the intention and nature of God. He is God’s thought and spirit, His essence, made flesh. Hence, the many statements like these made by Christ:

“Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing on his own, but only what he sees the Father doing; for whatever the Father does, the Son does likewise.”

“I can do nothing on my own. As I hear, I judge; and my judgment is just, because I seek to do not my own will but the will of him who sent me.”

“…for I have come down from Heaven, not to do my own will, but the will of him who sent me.”

“I and the Father are One.”

Jesus Christ is the living Word of God. He is the live intention of God. If we wish to know who God is and how He thinks and what He wants, we must look at Christ and how He speaks and thinks and lives. To study the life of the Teacher is to study God.

I guess the reason this blows me away is because I’m realizing more deeply that it’s true. The more I read and study and pray, the less abstract this is. Jesus happened. Jesus lives. Jesus is who He says He is and He’s giving us the straight dope. This stuff is for real.

It’s hard to comprehend. I’m grasping at the tiniest beginning of understanding of who Jesus Christ is and what He contains. Jesus says “I entered this world to render judgment–to give sight to the blind and to show those who think they see that they are blind.”

Eons ago I thought I knew what was happening with regard to matters spiritual. Now I know I didn’t and I don’t. Jesus (and His Holy Spirit) have rendered some judgement in me. I can see my blindness. That’s progress.

“And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not overcome it.” The darkness had it’s chance and yet the Light still shines.  I didn’t even know how deep in the dark I was until I saw the Light. Now there’s nothing to fear. To see the Light I have but to believe. And I do.

I’m amazed by this smidgen of knowledge surrounding what I am a part of and by the works taking place within me.

Praise Jesus.

 

 

 

One thought on “John 1:1-5

  1. Pingback: More John 1:1-5 | Born Again Jen

Leave a Reply

