Scripture Memorization Club – James 2:14-17

Just-Do-It-Now

Good Morning,

How long are we willing to suffer the same problem? Hoping for change? Hoping, perhaps, that God will magically change it for us at no significant effort on our part?

How many times are we going to say, ‘Yeah, I need to do that.’ or ‘Yeah, I should try that.’ or ‘Yeah, I should look into that.’ How many months are we going to say these things over and over and over again and do absolutely nothing any differently? And then continue to wonder why we still suffer? WHY isn’t God helping us!?

We have faith, right?

Here’s what scripture says about it…

James 2:14-17New International Version (NIV)

Faith and Deeds

14 What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save them? 15 Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. 16 If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? 17 In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

Let me tell you, I’m NOT looking forward to doing this ‘Financial Peace University’ class with my church. I have a bad attitude about giving up my Wednesdays.

Also – I love (but mostly hate) Crossfit. It hurts and it’s inconvenient to schedule it when I’ve got so many better things to do.

But, those are the things God has put in my life to help me solve my problems.

If I don’t like being out of shape and weak I’ve got to take some action. I can pray and pray and pray, but, short of a miracle, prayer isn’t going to build muscle tissue. I’ve got to lean on God for motivation and then I’ve got to get off the couch and GO EXERCISE.

If I’m broke and suffering financially (and it’s been that way for YEARS), I’ve got to do something differently. Obviously, what I’ve been doing isn’t working. I’ve prayed, and God has given me some advice and some tools, but it’s up to me to pick them up. I’ve got to sign up and go to this class, because it’s a part of the solution that God is crafting for me.

I’m not happy that I have to do these works. They’re a pain in my ass. I would much rather have Jesus fix these things for me while I sleep. But that isn’t the way it works. Faith is nothing without works.

Perhaps this applies to you in some way. If so, I encourage you to meditate on James this week. Write it, stick it to the mirror or the fridge and read it daily (or MEMORIZE IT), and ask God for the motivation to do that thing you know you need to do, but have been avoiding FOR MONTHS. Ask Him to help you recognize the help He has already offered you that you haven’t acknowledged or taken up in any kind of real way.

THEN…pick up the phone. Go check it out (whatever ‘it’ is). Have that conversation. Ask for that help. Complete that task. Commit to that program. Inquire about that service. And trust God with the rest of it. I guarantee you, He is the best life partner you will ever have, and He’s not going to let you down. He will absolutely make it worth it.

The goal here is that doing the works for our own lives will get us in the space to be effective for some other folks, and help the Kingdom of God ACTUALLY HAPPEN here on Earth.

So, let’s do this thing! Let’s be the people God created us to be! Let’s make this week a week of works and put the pedal to the metal in unfolding His plans for our lives!
Be blessed!
2 thoughts on “Scripture Memorization Club – James 2:14-17

  1. Jen this is an inspiring post. Thank you!

    You have some great comments: Our works are “part of the solution that God is crafting” for us. I also like your thought “doing the works for our own lives will get us in the space to be effective for some other folks”. I cringe at my self-imposed obstacles to helping “the Kingdom of God ACTUALLY HAPPEN”.

    I hope you don’t mind me adding a few thoughts from my own journey. I’ve been spending quite a bit of time reading I Corinthians 9:24-27. I think Paul gives a number of important principles about executing by faith:

    1. Exercise self-control.
    2. Concentration: Stay focused on the right things.
    3. Economy of effort (optimum value for the energy expended).
    4. Embrace appropriate pain (like a good workout).
    5. Don’t quit (finish the race).

    Well after all this — I better take my evening walk!

  2. So awesome! Thanks, Dave, for the encouragement and the great Corinthians stuff. Faith…. how did you know? That’s the word of the day for me (and every day for quite a while now). I’m going to go study 1 Corinthians 9:24-27 and see how God tells me to apply it to my own walk. So long as we’re speaking of walking. . .

Leave a Reply

